Maybe Someday – Colleen Hoover

17788403After reading Slammed, I had super high expectations for this book. Throughout most of the book, I was emotionally invested in what was happening. However, the last 20 pages of the book were an extreme disappointment, but I will address that later on. Sydney is a young woman who is working hard in school, living with her best friend, and is in a serious relationship with the boy of her dreams. Night after night, Sydney finds herself outside on her balcony listening to the mysterious boy across the apartment complex playing the guitar, Ridge.  The night of her twenty second birthday, Sydney loses her best friend and her boyfriend in a matter of minutes and finds herself living with Ridge and his friends, Bridgette and Warren. Sydney finds herself quickly becoming extremely close to her three new room mates, despite how right or wrong it may be.

I am not going to lie, I really enjoyed the majority of this book. I laughed, I cried, it was a stereotypical young adult romance novel. As soon as I found out one detail about a character, I would predict what would happen, and I was usually right, but I did not mind. The relationship the four room mates was something that brought a smile to my face throughout the entire novel. All four young adults were constantly pulling pranks on each other, like filling Oreos with toothpaste or putting baby powder in eggs.

So many of the emotions expressed in this novel were so genuine, my heart would begin to feel ten pounds heavier. For example, Ridge says,

My entire body is battling itself. My left brain is telling me this is somehow wrong, my right brain is wanting to hear her sing again, my stomach is nowhere to be found, and my heart is punching itself in the face with one arm and hugging itself with the other.

I also enjoyed how this book was from two different perspectives because we got to experience Sydney’s emotions also.

I don’t know why I’m trying to hide my reaction from him, but isn’t that what people do? We try so hard to hide everything we’re really feeling from those who probably need to know our true feelings the most. People try to bottle up their emotions, as if it’s somehow wrong to have natural reactions to life.

Throughout the novel, Sydney kept reminding herself that “maybe someday” her and Ridge could be together, and in the end, the theme of “maybe someday” came full circle. Another theme throughout the novel was Ridge and Sydney always reminding themselves that Ridge had a girlfriend. The topics of blame and keeping the good vs bad in perspective were also present.

***SPOILERS BELOW***

Now why didn’t I like the ending? After all of the buildup throughout the book I could not believe the book basically ended with Sydney and Ridge having sex. While some people may enjoy this ending, I believe that ending a book like this make having sex appear to be the ultimate thing to want in life, while I do not believe it is.

***SPOILERS ARE OVER***

While I wish it would have ended differently, I did enjoy this book and I will probably read more Colleen Hoover books.

One thought on “Maybe Someday – Colleen Hoover

  1. i completely agree with your review!! the ending made me extremely uncomfortable, but it was my first NA and colleen hoover book so i was kiiiinda expecting something like that? everything else was great and i flew right it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

