BookCon Experience & Haul 2015

Well it has been about a million years since BookCon, but I have been drowning in school work for the last two weeks and have not had a free second to write a blog post! Fortunately, I only have four finals left and then I will be free.unnamed

Anyway, BookCon was absolutely amazing. I took a seven o’ clock train into Penn Saturday morning, and arrived at Penn around eight. The walk to the Javits Center took around twenty-five minutes and by eight thirty I was on the line that wrapped around the Javits Center four times. I had previously been told they were opening the doors at eight, but they did not open the doors until around nine. As soon as we were let in, I ran with my mom and my cousin to the Queue Hall and got on line for the Paper Towns Panel, which we luckily got into. After they distributed wristbands around ten, I ran up to the showroom floor.

John Green Wristbands
John Green Wristbands

I was on line for Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and was one of the last people to get a copy. When I was waiting on line, they had told me I was most likely not going to get a copy, so when I did I was super excited. After that we ran down to the Word bookstore, which was the worst aspect of BookCon. After seeing how incredibly long the line was, my cousin and I went to the BFFs Forever Panel while my mom waited on line and bought the books we needed.

Displaying IMG_5040.JPG
Marie Lu Autographing Session
Displaying IMG_5052.JPG
Alexandra Bracken
Displaying IMG_5050.JPG
Adam Gidwitz
Displaying IMG_5062.JPG
Rainbow Rowell Signing Party

The BFFs Forever Panel was by Jenny Han, Sarah Dessen, and Gayle Forman and it was absolutely amazing. They were all so entertaining and every person in that room was laughing hysterically. After the panel, I had learned that the Jenny Han autographing line had maxed out because they allowed people to start lining up two hours before the autographing sessions. As soon as I was told that, I got on line for the Marie Lu autograph session. Because I had so many back to back events planned, my mom helped me hold spots on line. This allowed me to also get into the Alexandra Bracken and Adam Gidwitz autograph sessions. Once those were finished, I ran upstairs for the Rainbow Rowell signing, which was a ton of fun. To conclude the day, I went to the Paper Towns Panel, which was absolutely AMAZING. I could not believe I was in the same room as John Green and could not stop fangirling the ENTIRE time. All of the authors were super nice and accommodating. They signed everything I asked, but could not personalize everything. Each author was also willing to take pictures.

And now for the haul…

IMG_6241Out of everything I got at BookCon, I only paid for four books and I brought one from home. The four books I bought were Legend and Champion by Marie Lu, and two copies of the special edition of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. The reason why I got two copies of Fangirl was I got one for myself and one for my friend. My friend is turning sixteen next month and I actually got Rainbow to write “Happy Sweet 16 Ashley,” and sign the book. I am so excited to give the book to her because she absolutely loves Rainbow’s books and I cannot wait to see her reaction.

IMG_6253

Walking around the show floor, I picked up a copy of Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally. I have not heard anything about this book, but it was a free young adult novel and I am excited to read it. I also got a copy of Cold Mountain, which is a graphic novel. I have not read many graphic novels and am hoping this one is a good introduction to more graphic novels. I also got Advanced Readers Copies of Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, which I have heard amazing things about and Another Day by David Levithan, which I am super excited to read because Every Day was absolutely amazing. Another ARC I got was Nightmares: The Sleepwalker Tonic by Jason Segel and Kirsten Miller. When I was on line for Alex Bracken and Adam Gidwitz, they passed out a booklet of chapter samplers of three new Star Wars books which Alex, Adam, and Tom Angleberger signed. Finally, I got chapter samplers of The Masked Truth by Kelley Armstrong and Passenger by Alexandra Bracken.

IMG_6237Some non-book things I got at BookCon were buttons related to The Maze RunnerFangirl, Landline, and Carry On. I also got a huge Paper Towns movie poster while I was there.

Ultimately, I had an amazing time at BookCon this year. Unfortunately, BookCon got moved to Chicago next year, but hopefully I will take a long-weekend trip there and go to BookCon while I am there. For anyone going to BookCon in the future, I definitely recommend having a schedule and not getting upset if you miss something. Having someone who waited in long lines for me made the day so much better, and if you can bring someone with you to wait on lines it would help a lot.

One thought on “BookCon Experience & Haul 2015

Leave a Reply

