Where She Went ~ Gayle Forman

8492825Anyone who has read If I Stay, knows the heartbreaking story of Mia Hall, her family, and Adam Wilde could not help wanting more at the conclusion of the first novel. Where She Went continues the story of Mia and Adam a couple of years after the accident. In the heart of New York, Mia is about to graduate from Julliard and Adam is about to kickoff a world tour with his band, Shooting Star. Adam had been struggling for a while due to the stress of being a new superstar, and at one of his low points, saw an advertisement for a concert Mia was performing at. After talking during her concert, old memories came flooding back and it felt like they had lost no time at all. Unfortunately, life gets in the way sometimes…

I could not stop reading this book once I started. I loved seeing certain aspects of Mia and Adam relationship from Adam’s point of view and how the accident affected him. I typically enjoy sequels that tell the same story from a different perspective, and that did not change with this novel. That is one of the reasons I cannot wait to read Another Day by David Levithan, which I got an ARC of at BookCon.

I especially enjoyed how the novel explored the psychological issues Adam had after becoming a rock star. It really puts into perspective how people can appear to have everything, yet feel like they have nothing.

At one point in the novel, Adam alluded to the scene in Macbeth in which Lady Macbeth was trying to get blood off her hands. This was ironic because I read that scene in Macbeth in English the morning before I read that part in the book. The next day I ran into English class and started screaming to my teacher about how my book alluded to Macbeth and ended up giving her the plot of the entire story…oops.

I recommend this book to anyone who read If I Stay, and if you have not read If I Stay, what are you doing with your life? I definitely want to read more books by Gayle Forman, especially after seeing her at BookCon. She was such a nice and funny person and has such an interesting perspective on life.

2 thoughts on “Where She Went ~ Gayle Forman

Leave a Reply

