My Opinion of the First Chapter of Go Set A Watchman ~ Harper Lee

For those of you who are not aware, the first chapter of Go Set A Watchman was released today, four days before the entire book is released. I am typically not a lover of school assigned reading, but when I read To Kill A Mockingbird in English class last year, I fell in love. After the first day of reading the book in class, I went home and finished the entire thing. When I found out that another book by Harper Lee was being released, I was ecstatic. I just wanted to fall in love with another book the same way I fell in love with TKAM.

I just finished reading the first chapter, and I cannot wait to read the rest of the book. Living in New York, I always find the ways of the south fascinating and strangely different from the way I live, only a few hours by plane away.

From this chapter, it is obvious that Scout or Jean Louise Finch is still has the firecracker personality as an adult that she possessed as a child. She ran into a childhood friend, Hank, but there were no other major characters in the scene, just spoken about. I cannot wait to see Atticus again as an elderly man. I am just hoping for some amazing father-daughter moments in this book. It would also be interesting to see Scout fall in love.

Did you love reading TKAM in school? Have you read the first chapter of this? Are you excited for full book? Let me know.

2 thoughts on “My Opinion of the First Chapter of Go Set A Watchman ~ Harper Lee

  1. I am SO excited to read this book. After reading the first chapter, I want to know how else Jean Louise compares to Scout! …Early reviews have given the book poor ratings and apparently Atticus Finch’s reputation is now a bit tarnished, but I’m still excited to read it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

