Top Five Wednesday # 10 ~ Tropes You Hate

t5w

Happy Wednesday! This weekly bookish meme was created by gingerreadslainey and you can check out the Goodreads group for more information. This week’s topics is character tropes you hate. A few week’s ago the topic was favorite character tropes, so this one may seem a little similar because I have a love/hate relationship with so many character tropes.

5) Falling in Love with Someone You Lost Connection with Years Ago

Childhood best friends lose touch because of social differences in junior high and then at some point in high school they get back in tough and fall in love. This does not happen! The social distinctions made in middle school never change! Agh!

4) Evil Parents Who Are Only Parents because the Birth Parents Are Dead

I don’t know why this annoys me, but it does. I understand the typical hero’s journey involves parents who are not around, but that does not mean the parents who take care of the orphan are evil. This just hurts my heart a little too much.

3) Going from a Goody-Two-Shoes to a Badass in .2 Seconds

This does not ever happen in real life. There are people who like to follow the rules and there are people who do not like to follow the rules. While people can change, it does not happen as quickly as books make it seem.

2) Guy “Completing” a Girl

This annoys me because I don’t believe that a guy or a girl can complete anyone. You are who you are, and while who you meet and interact with can influence who you are, you will never become a more “completed”  person because of one other person.

1) Love Triangles

Like I have said before, love triangles are a hit-or-miss and more often than not, they are a miss. Plus, love triangles don’t really happen in real life.

So, I guess we can conclude that the tropes I hate usually don’t happen in real life and this is why I hate them. What does everyone else think about the tropes I hate?

2 thoughts on “Top Five Wednesday # 10 ~ Tropes You Hate

  1. Heh, I’m actually a sucker for the “Falling in Love with Someone You Lost Connection with Years Ago” trope. And it’s also happened to some people I know in real life 😀 I agree on all the others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

